Table of Contents
- 1 Establishing a Poultry Farm
- 2 FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED WHILE PLANNING A MECHANIZED POULTRY FARM
- 3 OPERATION PLAN
- 4 FINANCIAL PLAN
- 5 Conclusion
Setting up a business plan for the establishment of a poultry farm is a Herculean task that has to do with the feasibility phases study; when considering the types and kinds of a poultry farm, one wants to establish. Poultry as a part of agricultural activities with an outstanding core economic objective is a practice under agricultural husbandry farming processes that includes piggery, cow, rearing, milk production, skin and hides production, fishery, snail, bees and honey production, poultry and generally, all other aspects of animal production and management.
Establishing a Poultry Farm
To establish a poultry farm; these two types of agriculture, based on the one, ones choose to practice, is frequently available under the classification of the followings:
- Subsistence poultry farming – (personal/family consumption)
- Mechanized poultry farming – (market/commercial purpose
In view to the expected feasibility study, market survey and the general establishment of a standard poultry farm; based on kind of poultry birds, the entrepreneurship wants to rear, ranging from the available best and fast practices across the world; such as:
|S/N||KINDS OF BIRDS||BREEDING TIME||MATURATION||HALF LIFE|
|1||Broilers||1 – 2 weeks||3 – months||–|
|2||Cockerels||1 – 4 weeks||6 – months||–|
|3||Layers||1 – month||5 – 6 months||1½ years|
The farmers or the entrepreneurs in his/her best intellect to ensure fast and sustainable healthy growth for maximum production and profitability, needs a service of a Veterinary Doctor or farm rehabilitation workers, if he or she is not one, considering the number and volume of the establishment.
FACTORS TO BE CONSIDERED WHILE PLANNING A MECHANIZED POULTRY FARM
2. Land/environment topography and weather
3. Market volume
4. Technical/operational/managerial know-how.
The firm will be commercial poultry farm, therefore, it will require full time, labour and geared towards producing a scale for the sale of eggs.
The typical production cycle of birds cost about 17 months and involves three distinct phases:-
- Small chicks or broilers: this phase cost from 0 – 2 months during which small chick are kept in a facility separate from laying birds.
- Growers: this phase lasts about 3 months from the ninth to the twentieth week of age. Growers may be either housed separated from small chicks or continued to be reared in broiler cum-grower houses appropriate care will be provided to the growers particularly between their seventeenth and twentieth week of age as their reproductive organs develop during this period.
- Layers: growers are transferred from the grower’s house to the layers house when they are 18 weeks old to prepare for the cycle.
The initial cost of starting this small scale poultry farm is about N1, 000, 000 that would be used for acquiring 3, 000 layers, rent a plot of land building structure that house the chicken buying equipment daily feeding and medical treatment.
The expenses for rearing these Chicks to include:
|S/N||CHICKS||UNIT QUOTA||UNIT PRICE||TOTAL AMOUNT|
|Chicks||100:00||1, 000||100, 000|
|Feeds||2, 000:00||20||40, 000|
ESTIMATED FINANCIAL OPERATING EXPENDITURE FOR THE YEAR
|S/N||TERMS||TIME INTERVAL||NO. OF WORKERS||BASIC AMOUNT||TOTAL|
|Transportation||12 months||–||3, 000||36, 000|
|Salaries||12 months||3||7, 000||252, 000|
|Electricity bill||12 months||–||5, 000||60, 000|
|Advertising||12 months||–||2, 000||24, 000|
|Insurance||12 months||–||7, 500||90, 000|
|Rent||12 months||–||10, 000||120, 000|
|Feeds||12 months||8, 000||96, 000|
|Miscellaneous||12 months||3, 000||40, 000|
|TOTAL||45, 000||718, 000|
FUTURE EXPECTED INCOME FOR ONE YEAR
|S/N||TERMS||UNIT QUOTA||COST PRIZE||SALE PRIZE||AVERAGE||TOTAL SUM (UQ x AV = TS)|
|1||Broilers||1, 500||200||1, 000 – 1, 200||1, 100||1, 650, 000|
|2||Layers (eggs)||1, 500||10||15-20||17.5||(26, 250 x 365) 9, 581, 250|
PROFIT MARGIN INDEX
Total cost – total income = profit marginal index
= TOTAL COST + ESTIMATED FINANCE
280, 000 + 718, 000
= 998, 000
REVENUE = 9, 581, 250
– 998, 000
8, 583, 250
∴ REVENUE = 8, 583, 250
From the survey carries out all the projections made. It is discovered that the project will be a worthwhile one. The project has the ability to pay back its owners capital within just three years and has a capital employ of 34% making it very viable.
Extensive research has being made still other suggestion will still be welcome from well-wishers.